COVID-19 Travel Advisories for PA, NY, NJ and Connecticut

COVID-19 Travel Advisories for PA, NY, NJ and Connecticut

Pennsylvania’s Domestic Travel Quarantine Recommendation*

In a July 2, 2020 press release, the Wolf Administration announced a recommendation for travelers returning from 15 U.S. states with high numbers of COVID-19 cases to quarantine for 14 days upon return to Pennsylvania.  On July 10, 2020, the Pennsylvania Department of Health published an update adding four more states to the list and removed one state (Delaware) on July 15. The PA Department of Health is currently recommending that anyone who travels to the 18 states listed below quarantine at home for 14 days upon return to Pennsylvania.  These 19 states include:  Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.

FAQs –


New York, New Jersey and Connecticut Travel Advisory*

On June 25, 2020, the Governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut issued a travel advisory to control the spread of COVID-19.  The states on this list are determined based on having positive COVID-19 test rates higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or having a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven day rolling average. As of July 14, there are 22 states on this list:  Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin. (Delaware was removed from this list on July 14, 2020)

In New York, anyone traveling to one of the 22 states listed above on the travel advisory is required by a Governor’s Executive Order to quarantine for 14 days upon return to NY.  These requirements do not apply to anyone passing through a state for a limited duration (i.e. less than 24 hours) through the course of travel.  Those who do not comply with this order may be subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000.  If a New Yorker traveled to a “hot spot” state for non-essential travel, they will not be eligible for the state mandated paid sick leave benefits.  If they travel for work or at the employer’s request, they will be eligible for state paid sick leave.  However, they may be eligible for the FFCRA Paid Sick Leave due to a State quarantine or isolation order.  For more details, see

For New Jersey and Connecticut, they are recommending rather than requiring a 14 day quarantine.

NY Travel Advisory:

NJ Travel Restrictions:


*As of July 15th, 2020 – please continue to refer to state specific links for most up-to-date info.